Ads 468x60px

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Gautam Gambhir is the international player of the year...!

Gautam Gambhir is international player of the year

In-form Indian opener Gautam Gambhir on Sunday won the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year award for his stupendous performance with the bat in the 2008-09 season.

Gambhir, who has notched seven hundreds in his last nine Tests including four in the last four, also won the Test Batsman of the Year award .

Gambhir's India and Delhi opening mate Virender Sehwag won the ODI Batsman of the Year award.

The Test Bowler of the Year award was bagged by Australia's left-arm pacer Mitchell Johnson.


Former spin great Erapalli Prasanna was given the Lifetime Achievement award while Australia got the Team of the Year award.

Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was given a special felicitation award for completing 300 wickets in Tests.

The International Spirit of Cricket award went to Sri Lanka batsman Thilan Samaraweera who got injured in the Lahore terror attack in March while his compatriot Ajantha Mendis bagged the ODI Bowler of the Year award.

Cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar said at the function that these ratings are accurate as indicated by the fact that some of the previous International Cricketer of the Year award winners were modern day greats Brian Lara (West Indies), Muthiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) and Ricky Ponting (Australia).

"Ceat Cricket Rating strives to focus on identifying the right talent. The ratings are pretty much accurate as you can see some of the modern greats like Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ricky Ponting etc winning the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year in the past," he said.

The award winners:

International Cricketer of the Year and Test Batsman of the
Year - Gautam Gambhir (India)

ODI Batsman of the Year - Virender Sehwag (India)

Test Bowler of the year - Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

ODI Bowler of the year - Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)

Spirit of Cricket Award - Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka)

300 Wickets Felicitation Award - Harbhajan Singh (India)

Lifetime Achievement Award - EAS Prasanna (India).



Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger... Your Ad Here